Business-ing

So, as I mentioned in the Etsy post – I’ve been starting some new things this summer. Chuck and I are working through some problems, and I’m trying to do some things that are just for me. Because, let’s be honest – everyone needs some me time. To quote a fellow grad student here at UA – “If you don’t question you’re abilities, everything you want to do, and why you’re even in grad school at least once, then you aren’t doing grad school right.” This is, somewhat unfortunately, an extremely true statement. Graduate school is supposed to be a learning experience – and part of that experience is learning more about yourself, what you really want to do, and what qualifies you to be here. For some people, that may be too hard, or they may not really belong in graduate school – which is a reality many people must face. For me, graduate school has been hard, but it’s something that I do actually enjoy – I enjoy my research, the courses, the relationships I’m building with professors and fellow students, and in teaching (something I never thought I would enjoy). The important thing to remember is that you have support – your advisers, your cohort mates, friends, family, significant others, children (if you have them) – and that your support network is there to support you! Sometimes, that means admitting that you’re having a hard time and utilizing that network to get some advice or just have a friend to talk to.

Now, onto what I’ve been doing this summer to focus on me. There are small and large things that you can do – some of them seem superficial, but that shouldn’t be as big of a concern. Do things that make you happy. I’ve been deep cleaning, organizing, and rearranging my apartment – I moved the bed to a different wall, got some cheesy string lights in two different colors (they match my bedding) hung up over the head board, and cleaned out my closet. I took the clothes I was getting rid of to Plato’s Closet – great idea if you are in need of some cash and have a lot of things you don’t wear or just want to get rid of – and I’m going to donate the ones they didn’t take to Goodwill. I also got a haircut yesterday – went back to the undercut but left one side and most of the back long, so it’s more me than just growing it out all the same length. I’m going home for a week and getting another tattoo while I’m there. These are all the small (and superficial seeming, to an extent) things I’m doing just for me.

The bigger things include starting my own business, changing up my fitness plan, and starting a new product from It Works!. As I already posted, I have an Etsy shop that I’m slowly stocking with all kinds of cute gifts ideas. I’ve had my first order too – a custom dish cloth order from one of my sorority sisters (see, I told you the support network is there for you!), which is really exciting. I’ve also decided to become a Beachbody Coach! I’ve been using shakeology, PiYo, and Insanity for awhile now, and I decided that I want to try and help people the way my coach (another one of my sorority sisters, and my phi director adviser) has inspired me. I’m having my “Getting Started Right” interview with her tonight and hopefully will be getting started selling products and starting my first challenge group soon! If you’re interested in learning more about the company, send me a message or an email! I’ve also signed up to be a street rep for Fresh Junky Clothing company – if you check out their website you can use my code MNSHN363 to get a discount! (Yes, I know, I’m a bit moonshine obsessed, hehe) Finally, I have a friend that sells It Works! products, and she needed a product tester for Confianza – an anti anxiety/greater focus supplement. Since I’m really not interested in prescription anti anxiety meds, I thought I’d give it a shot and see how it goes – so I’ll be letting all of you know as well, since I’m sure there are people out there in the wide world of the internet who might be interested in using it!

That’s pretty much all I’ve got for this post – I have a few more update posts in the works ;). I’ve also started contacting PhD programs (yikes!), so I’ll have a post about that once I’ve contacted them all and narrowed down the list a little bit. Stay happy and healthy, dear readers!

Leave a Reply

