Staying Busy This Summer

Well, after a very busy Memorial Day weekend and a big week ahead, I thought I should do an update. Over the weekend we went just about everywhere – Chuck’s dad’s, the range, outdoor stores, the gym, shopping. I also had a movie night with Allyson! We watched Manhunter and Silence of the Lamb’s! Then yesterday Chuck and I helped his grandfather did a pipeline ditch for the waterlines into their new little Honey Store building – which was more fun for me than anone else I think, because I just love to dig, haha. Then we ended our Medmorial Day celebration by watching Saving Private Ryan and The Patriot. 

We didn’t do too much celebrating in the traditional sense – Chuck had a very hard weekend. As a veteran he is always thinking about the friends and officers who died serving with him, but there are times when that pain is worse on him. This weekend was especially hard for him, because he was thinking a lot about a sargeant who had particularly looked out for him and had kind of taken him under his wing who died in combat. It was the saddest I’ve seen him in the 6 months we’ve been together. There are several veterans in my family – including my grandfather and brother, but I have never really experienced helping anyone with PTSD before we got together. It’s never easy, and I know I say the wrong thing or ask the wrong kinds of questions of him a lot, and sometimes it’s very hard on me too. I just try to keep a focus on how we feel about each other and that he’s not angry at me, he’s just angry, which helps in many situations. I like to think that maybe I have helped him in some way just by being there and listening to him when he needs to yell, or talk about things. I just hope that I can be what he needs me to be, because he’s done so much to deserve an easier life, even though that may not be the reality now.

Anyway, on to some happier notes. I got in some of my fall textbooks and have been staying on track with my comp studying. Allyson and I have been doing a “book club” of just the two of us. We read The Age of Ra by James Lovegrove a couple of weeks ago, and now we’re about to start The Last Juror by John Grisham (in honor of Father’s Day, since both of our dads love Grisham). Writing Group is also picking up, so I hope to have somemore updates on articles and research to post about soon! I’ve also been trying to revamp and reopen my etsy shop – so look forward to some more info about that as well! Lastly, but not least, Chuck, all three pups, and I will be heading for a visit to Virginia this weekend! We’re heading out Thursday night to spend the weekend with my parents and do some fishing and shooting hopefully – so I will do a full recap of that, and probably post some pics of the trip while we’re there. Hope all of you had a great Memorial Day Weekend! 

Leave a Reply

