Spring Semester

Well, it’s already Week 3 of the Spring semester, and all I can really say to sum everything up since my last update is one word: busy. So much has happened that I don’t even know where to begin! So, I guess I’ll just try and fit everything in and hope I don’t miss any of the details :p.

First off, I finished my first semester of grad school in December! Classes all went well, if a little stressful with finals and papers there at the end. This semester I’m registered for three classes and teaching two lab sections of Ant 100, so things are moving along pretty steadily! I’m in Culture, History of Archaeology, and GIS. So far GIS is probably my favorite – but since I’ve worked with the program before I kind of expected it to be that way.

Now, for the two biggest pieces of news! The first, and most important, is that I have a boyfriend! I met him at the end of November, right before my birthday, and we have now been officially dating for a little over two months. He’s so amazing – he even came to visit me in Virginia over Christmas break and met my whole family. It’s also nice to be in a really serious relationship – we are still taking things slowly and just enjoying how things are now, but the expectation is that it will be leading to more serious steps. It’s a little terrifying but also incredible that I have found someone like him, who I want to be with really for the foreseeable future and beyond.

Chuck and I at the Barter Theater in Abingdon, VA

Chuck and I at the Barter Theater in Abingdon, VA

Second big news: We got a puppy!! Her name is Princess Buttercup, and she is a pit bull/lab mix. Currently she is about 2 months old and is getting along pretty well with Sammy and Jackson. Her crate and house training are also going pretty well, with some minor accidents of course. If it isn’t obvious, I am loving the life I’m building in Alabama! I have a good job, I’m going to school, I’ve got a wonderful boyfriend and three adorable fur babies. I can’t wait to see what else this year will bring!

Leave a Reply

